Day 1 Orlando

So as promised here is a round up of day one, bright and early mum got us all up as on her excel spreadsheet it was the day of sea world and target shopping, so off we went. Sea world recently has been in the media constantly, however having gone there since five years old I wasn’t going to stop,  I am a firm believer to the fact there are always two sides to every story. Blackfish have their point as well I do firmly believe the animals here need more room, so adjustment is needed and admire the new conservation efforts sea world are trying to make and change.  And just because you go to sea world doesn’t make mean you support animal abuse but quite the opposite as Sea world over the past ten years has rescued and rehabilitated over 25000 animals many rescues requested by the government. But this article is not on the sea world issue, so getting on to the fun of the theme park and outfit choices for the hot 80 degrees!

IMG_0256

Outfit- Jeans are Next, shoes Nike air max (office) top is Boohoo and my Ears Ebay.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by the lovely staff, grabbed our maps although we have been so often a map was not needed. The first ride we faced was Manta, fun fact about me up until now I was terrified of rides, but that’s another funny story. However I decided to do a Drake (Yolo) and hop onto Manta, that ride where you end up lying on your back looking up at the sky pretending to be a sting ray.  The Ride was fast, exhilarating and an experience I will never forget by far the best ride I have ever been on, the way it’s done means you view the park from a unique angle and height. If you only do one ride there, make it Manta.

Then it was time for the famous dolphin show, followed by the sea lion show and to finish off Shamu. The dolphin show is one of my favourites. However, it also is an excellent chance to learn about conservation, as the team brought out some newly saved species. The whales mixed with a dolphin were rescued and are being rehabilitated at sea world, this not only got to show people some of the good sea world do it was also an animal I had never seen before.  The dolphin show took place and was as magical as ever, with the inspiring music and magic of the dolphins and beautiful birds; it was as enchanting as I remember. Next stop the hilarious sea lion show and walrus show,  the walrus that I would later get to meet. Sea world changes up their shows, so the new setting was no longer a pirate theme but high school, as cheesy as ever with even more charm; highly entertaining and a must. Finally, the show I have watched since I was five years old, the one that originally inspired my love of sea creatures and became my childhood goal to become a marine biologist. The Shamu show, again slightly different but still based on the believe story line.

IMG_0459

Joshua, my brother posing with the polar bear.

The show was filled with talks about conservation and the love the trainers have for all animals including Shamu. The show is so enjoyable because it’s a display of such wonderful creatures whilst educating, without Sea world I would never have learnt about killer whales and their research is vital.

By then it was time for lunch, we ate at the grill next to the sky tower the small restaurant where I treated myself to mac n cheese an American favourite of mine along with a salad. Then up in the sky tower to view the whole park, followed by feeding of the sea lions and a penguin experience but I will do an entire blog post on my penguin experience, which was just incredible getting to pet a penguin.

IMG_0258
With the penguins!!

I hope you have enjoyed this blog, any requests please let me know and hope you enjoyed this post.

Lots of Love

Elizabeth xx

 

 

 

Leave a comment